What About Job?

For Job said, “ It may be that my sons have sinned and cursed God in their hearts.” Thus Job did regularly. Job 1:5 

Who took away all that Job had? The devil

And the Lord said to satan, “ Look all that Job has is in your power.” Job 1:12

Somewhere down the line Job had given power to the devil!

For the thing I greatly feared has come upon me and what I dreaded has happened to me. Job 3:25

Did God allow it? No. I believe Job allowed fear causing satan to have power

What did Job fear? Maybe everything that he had would be taken from him

What happens when we Greatly fear something? Do we lose faith?

What happens when we blame God? 

Did Job blame God?

The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away. Job 1:21 

God does not give a spirit of fear. He gives a spirit of power, love and a sound mind. 2Tim 1:7 

I believe that fear is the opposite of faith. I believe that Job was afraid that he was gonna lose what God had given him. Then Job started to lose his faith and this gave power to satan. Then Job started blaming God as some of us do when bad things happen. i believe that God doesn’t allow bad things to happen. Only good things come from God.

Don’t be deceived believers, every good gift and perfect gift comes from above. James 1:16-17…I believe that once Job got his theology right, God gave him back more than he had in the beginning!

Job 42:1-6

Job answered the Lord saying,

“I know you can do everything. You make plans, and nothing can change or stop them.
 You asked, ‘Who is this ignorant person saying these foolish things?’

    I talked about things I did not understand.
    I talked about things too amazing for me to know.

 “You said to me, ‘Listen, and I will speak.
    I will ask you questions, and you will answer me.’
 In the past I heard about you,
    but now I have seen you with my own eyes.
 And I am ashamed of myself.    I am so sorry.
As I sit in the dust and ashes   I promise to change my heart and my life.”

4 thoughts on “What About Job?

  1. Hey Clint! Khris Roberts here. Glad to see that you are blogging. This is a great way to focus in on different ideas and sharpen each other. I’ve always wanted to start one of these but have never gotten around to it. Maybe someday.

    I’m trying to better understand your position on Job. You state that “Job’s fear gave power to the devil”, “Job started to lose his faith and this gave power to satan”, and that “I believe that God doesn’t allow bad things to happen.” Looking at Job 1:6-12 and 2:1-6, both show God presenting Job to Satan as a “pure and upright man who fears God and turns away from evil.” Satan then asks for the power to harm Job, and both times God gives Satan that power. How can you then conclude “I believe that God doesn’t allow bad things to happen?” I agree that good things come from God, and that bad things do not come from God, but causing bad things to happen and allowing them to happen are two different things. Let me know your thoughts.

    • Thanks for responding Khris. Yea you should do this blogging thing, it is fun. I love it. I have a ton of more stuff that I have written on paper. I have been writing things down ever since I first started reading the bible 6 years ago. It is kind of cool to look back on the things I wrote in the beginning and see how much I have learned in God’s word.

      I wrote this Job study down about a year ago. The first thing that comes to my mind as I look over this is that we are no longer under the same covenant that Job was under. As you know, we believers are under grace now. Galatians 3 says that we have been redeemed from the curse of the law. I believe that God doesn’t deal with us the same way he did Job in the old covenant. God has given us everything we need that pertains to life and godliness. Praise Jesus

      Now, do I believe that fear can come over us and cause bad things to happen, Yes! The bible tells us that fear comes from the enemy yet God gives us a spirit of power, love, and a sound mind. Also I think we have to be very careful when we say God allows bad things to happen. If we keep saying God allows bad things to happen, then we can eventually get confused and start to think that God caused these things to happen. I think what I was trying to say when I said “God doesn’t allow bad things to happen” I meant that God will not stand for these bad things to happen in this New Covenant , if that makes sense.

      I know that God says that we will have troubles in this life, but that does not mean God wants us to suffer. God has given us the power and grace to overcome any situation in life. We are MORE than conquerors!

      Thanks for reading my blog Khris, I hope everything is going well with you and your family.

      Clint

  2. If God says that we will have troubles in this life, then we will. Knowing that He is always protecting us means that even when trouble comes, we can rest assured that He is there with us. We are given the power to overcome every temptation, but not everything we suffer is a result of falling to temptation. If I am driving home from work, and someone hits the back of my truck and I get hurt, I think we can both agree that God allowed that to happen, either directly like in Job’s case, or indirectly through normal life on a fallen earth. I think I can agree that God might not have wanted me to get hurt, but He allows it to happen. I would also say that if God allows, not causes, harm/sickness/etc. to come to us, He can still be glorified through our suffering. I also agree that God will not stand for the sin in the world. He will right the wrong that is occurring in this life, but the righting of wrongs may not necessarily happen while we are on the earth or before he returns.

    Later Clint. Enjoying the discussion. Keep it up, and you will get me motivated to start my blog soon!

    • I agree Khris, we must rest through the storm and rest after the storm. Just like Jesus in the boat was resting during the storm! Let me know if you get a blog going 🙂

Leave a Reply

