Today I am Struggling with Worship Music

Written 7/12/2012

Today I am struggling with worship music. Last Sunday I was thinking about the invitation song. Give us clean hands, give us pure hearts… I mean don’t we already have clean hands and hearts. As I listen to more worship music, Oh the blood of Jesus WASHES me. Shouldn’t it be washed me?? Or What can make us whole AGAIN..Nothing but the blood of Jesus…Unless these songs are for the unbeliever, Great..But if they are for the Christian, whoa, how many times do I need to be born again… how many times do I need to ask Christ into my heart… He died for me once. My sinful self and lustful desires were crucified on the cross. I mean yeah I mess up. Some days I have a bad day. But am I a constant sinner?.. No way I don’t think so. I definitely don’t wanna be the one who willfully sins after receiving the knowledge of the truth and there  no more remains a sacrifice for sins (Hebrews 10:26) 

I choose to be the Christian in Ephesians 4:24 – be that new person who was made to be like God. Or the Christian in 1 John 3:5-10

And you know that He was manifest to take away my sins. Whoever sins has neither seen Him or known HIM. Whoever abides in Him does not sin. The purpose of Jesus manifest was to destroy the works of the devil. Whoever is born of God does not sin: for His seed remains in him and he cannot sin, because he is born of God. Whoever does not practice righteousness is not of God! 

Besides, I am not under the law anymore. Galatians Chapter 3 says that the Law was our schoolmaster to bring us to Christ, so that we may be justified by faith. But after the faith came, we are no longer under the schoolmaster. Jesus said in Matthew 9:17 to not put new wine into old wine skins, or else the wineskins break, the wine is spilled, and the wineskins are ruined. Meaning, don’t mix the old law with the new law. I am under grace by faith in Christ. Hebrews chapter 10 says that my heart has been set free from a sin conscience and I can enter boldly where Jesus is seated at the right hand of God with full assurance. I can enter now in a new living way not when I die! Thank you Jesus!

Leave a Reply

